Weekend away

Image

Tommy (my husband) and I went for a little weekend getaway to celebrate our one year anniversary, even though we were about a month late. It’s hard to get away, ya know.

On our journeys we stopped at Fallingwater, a Frank Lloyd Wright home in South Western PA. It was fabulous. I practically had to drag Tommy there kicking and screaming, but I think he enjoyed it almost more than I did. I highly suggest checking it out if you’re ever in the area, and I can only imagine any FLW house would be equally fascinating to tour.

I had my first upcycling fail on Sunday night. My awesome two tier end table that had been sitting next to my love seat was screaming for a rehab. We purchased it second hand and it just wasn’t cutting it anymore.

The problems began when I realized it wasn’t anywhere close to real wood, or to having a real wood finish. I should have used my oil base primer, but it’s a pain to work with so lazy me trusted water based. First mistake. Then, I thought I’d use some left over paint from my kitchen. I love it on the wall so why wouldn’t I love it on a table. It was just terrible. I couldn’t get it to cover nicely, the color just looked all wrong, and I’m pretty sure that the finish on the “wood” seeped through 3 layers of primer and 2 layers of paint. I tried to shabby chic it, thinking the lack of total coverage could be made to look intentional, but that just made it worse.

So chalk that one up to experience. I’m sure I’ll stumble across many more situations like that in the future, but I can’t help but feeling a little defeated on this.

New products up, including a wine rack and a mail and key holder. They’re pretty adorable if I do say so myself. An equally adorable jewelery box coming soon too!

Leave a Reply

