My first show!

My first craft fair booth!

If you haven’t noticed, I’ve been pretty MIA lately. No new listings on my store, no blog posts in nearly a month. I’ve been working just about non-stop on items for my first craft fair, which was this weekend at the lovely Ginger & Spice Marketplace in Walkersville, Md.

It was incredibly fun and such a great experience. I won’t lie to you all, I didn’t sell nearly as much as I hoped. Turnout for the event was low, as it was the Fall Festival’s first year and my taste may have been a little modern for the show’s clientele. But I did earn some money and got my name out there, and most importantly I got my first show under my belt. I’m a veteran now!

Over the past month I have made so many new items, including branching out into a lot more small crafts, including wreathes and coasters. I made 10 wreaths in about a week, and I tell you, if I made one more damn burlap flower I was going to cry and my fingers were going to fall off. Smaller crafts are much more tedious, and while I like them, I definitely enjoy the larger tasks like furniture more. But it’s fun to branch out sometimes.

Check back later this week for an awesome coaster tutorial! They were probably my favorite thing I made for the show, and I already know I’ll be making lots of these for Christmas presents. They’re fairly easy, so it’s a perfect beginner craft!

Lastly, I want to thank everyone in my life who has been so incredibly supportive over the last month. Getting a booth ready in 3 weeks with about zero inventory to start was not easy and there was no way I could have done it without so many amazing people. Tommy not only worked his butt off hauling furniture, running to the store and doing every little task I could put on him, he also picked up my slack around the house and put up with a living room full of product, sometimes even having to sit on the floor because all the couches were moved or blocked. Bmore Nestled would not exist if it weren’t for him. My mother worked hours in her quilting lair of a basement to help me put items in my booth, and talk about tedious crafting- I would never have the patience or her attention to detail to do the work she does. She is amazing! And my best friend since middle school, Megan Kobuck, who not only put up with coming to visit a messy house, she woke up at 5 a.m. to drag herself to that show with us, and there’s no way I would have ever gotten my booth set up in time if it wasn’t for her hard work. I’m lucky to have her as a friend!

That’s barely the tip of the iceberg for people who gave me their support. I’m really a blessed girl with great family and friends.

And I’ll leave you all with a teaser. Nothing is a official yet, but Bmore Nestled may be taking a big step forward soon! Keep checking back to hear about a possible exciting development.

 

2 thoughts on “My first show!

Leave a Reply

