Let the Holiday Crafting Begin!

20121121-123612.jpg

Here’s my latest Annie Sloan project, soon to be completed in Duck Egg Blue. I would have a picture of the finished product for you, but last night I was having an awful time with a few spots on the top where something was seeping through the paint. Then I tried to prime just those spots, and I didn’t wait long enough for the primer to dry and then the paint was too light. Then I sanded and tried to touch up that spot, and again didn’t wait long enough and for some reason there was wax involved and long story short, I’m going to have to sand the entire thing down and repaint the top.

But that’s the fun of these projects, right? The mistakes and experiments and then finally seeing an awesome finished product. I’m just not at the finished product yet.

Still in love with the Annie Sloan Chalk Paint. In fact, after I gave up on the dresser top for the night I painted another semi-circle table for my upstairs hallway. The first one already made it up to The Barn for the December sale. I’m still as impressed with the paint and obsessed with Florence.

Well it’s the day before Thanksgiving, which means Christmas crafting can officially begin! Here’s a few links to my favorite blogs/projects to help everyone get in the holiday spirit.

20121121-120030.jpg
Eat, Drink, Chic
These are super cute free holiday printables, from gift tags to ornaments. This site has just about any free printable for any occasion you can think of, so I highly recommend checking this out if you’re hosting any events this season.

20121121-120953.jpg
Gifts in a Jar
Have a ton of neighbors? A thousand cousins? Here’s a great collection of simple but adorable gifts in a jar. Cheap, easily mass produced and you can decorate the jar to personalize!

20121121-121849.jpg
DIY Snow Globe
I made some of these last week, and they’re about as adorable as they can be. It was super fun to find all the different jars to make into winter wonderlands. I did a salt shaker and a sugar bowl too!

20121121-124147.jpg
Primitive and Proper
Primitive and Proper is the blog of the lovely Cassie who also is part of The Barn. Her blog is wonderful, and she just posted an awesome idea to use all those old cookie cutters you inherited from your mother/grandmother. You could spend hours looking through her posts, and don’t miss out on her house tour. It’s stunning. There’s not too much that makes me want a big house and leave the city, but I’m way jealous of her place!

2 thoughts on “Let the Holiday Crafting Begin!

  1. thank you so much for the shout out, megan!!!! you made my day! 🙂 hope you guys had an awesome thanksgiving and i will see you in a couple weeks. i am thankful you decided to join the barn! 🙂

Leave a Reply

