After 27 Years of Waiting

20130106-214003.jpg

Growing up, my brothers and sister (and even my dad!) had beautiful hand knit Christmas stockings all complete with their names. And while being the youngest child by a decade (I was quite the accident surprise baby) had many advantages, getting the second round of hand made goodies from my mother never seemed to pan out.

My stocking was a cheap store bought one, with an ugly wreath on the front. I complained about it every year. And every year my mother would say she’d make me one eventually, but it never happened.

This year my sister-in-law Amy asked my mother to make her two girls, Samantha and Olivia, their own stockings. And I had to interject. I love my nieces, but there was no way they were getting stockings before I did. I waited for 27 years, and it was my time. So I put my foot down, and low and behold, my mother got all three stockings done for the holiday. Santa even put a cute little travel coffee mug in mine this year!

My husband’s is almost done, and will be ready for next year.

20130106-222908.jpg

My mother does beautiful work. I don’t know how she has the patience or focus to do such detail oriented work, but it amazes me. I am so excited to finally have my own stocking!
Next year I’ll be stocking my booth with a few of these adorable vintage pattern stockings, and I know it’s early, but we will be taking custom orders all year.

Leave a Reply

