The First Piece I’ve Done For Myself

When I got married and moved to Baltimore, my husband already had all his furniture, fit for a bachelor pad. It was pleather, dark, brown (the only color I hate), heavy and masculine. It was purchased at Big Lots when he was 21, and although it was hideous, it was surprising sturdy and I couldn’t find a valid excuse to get rid of it.

I accessorized it all up, cute pillows, bright paintings, delicate flower vases. I made it livable, but I never liked it. And my least favorite part of it all was the dining table. It was counter height, which I’m not a big fan of, and it was prone to turning white whenever there was anything damp set on it. I literally had to iron my table after nearly every big meal.

But then one day I found this beauty sitting along the road, one block from my house. I carried it back to my house and had it sitting in my kitchen for a month, waiting for it to be turned in to the beautiful table I wanted.

20130122-124746.jpg

 

20130122-125813.jpg

The biggest problem was there were only three chairs, and we definitely needed at least four. But then we stumbled upon these gorgeous upholstered dining chairs at The Barn and we picked up 2 of them.

I was debating between Duck Egg Blue or Aubusson Blue, both Annie Sloan Chalk Paint, and I settled on the richness of the Aubusson. While I’d love to match the cushions of the side chairs, I don’t have access to the fabric, so I just did a creamy tan to match the background of the arm chairs. (Tip: I actually bought a drop cloth from Home Depot for $7 to cover the seats and still have a ton left over. Much cheaper than going to a fabric store and it was a perfect match!)

 

 

 

 

Here’s the finished product:

20130122-130304.jpg

I’m in love! Now I just have to wait 21 days for the wax to cure so I can begin using the table. That’s very important for a dining room table, it’s going to get so much use that you need to make sure it was a good finish on it. And there it is, the first ASCP piece I’ve painted for myself that I have zero intention of selling.

One more tip I’ve found with Annie Sloan: I have been watering down my final coat. When I just need a little extra coverage to fill in the gaps I missed, I water down the paint and it goes on faster, smoother and saves paint. Just a little water really makes a big difference! The more I paint with it the more I love it!

I’ll leave you just a great before and after shot! Seriously, I’m obsessed.

20130122-131353.jpg

Leave a Reply

