DIY Lamp Black & Old White Vintage China Hutch Makeover

Lamp Black & Old White china hutch close up

I’ve been a loyal Annie Sloan Chalk Paint user ever since my first ASCP experience, but lately I’ve had a wandering eye. I’m just a little bored of the same old colors over and over again, and I wouldn’t mind having a semi-gloss finish every once in a while. So I’ve begun a new love affair with General Finishes Milk Paint.

Full disclosure here: General Finishes sent me a sample kit of their products in exchange for some “well lit, staged photographs of my finished products”. Now, I have used their Milk Paint before and already loved it. That is why I almost screamed with happiness when I read the email offering me the kit. My first sample products from anywhere- little Bmore Nestled is getting to be legit.General Finishes Lamp Black Milk PaintI was so happy when I saw Lamp Black in the kit! I had the perfect piece for it and I almost immediately pulled this adorable little hutch out of my garage where it’s been sitting for months. I knew the sleekness of the Lamp Black would really modernize and update this piece.

DIY China hutch makeover beforeI started by removing the broken glass, using a knife to gently pry off the thin framing from the inside of the door. As I pulled each section out, I labeled them left, right, top and bottom. I have taken so many of these out and spent a loooong time trying fit it back together perfectly, I learned not to skip labeling. I also removed the decorative wood screen from the door. There may be some times where you could paint it and it would look great, but I’m really going for a modernized look for this hutch and decided to toss it.
Removing framing
After I started painting, I noticed some of the veneer was peeling off on the drawer. So I busted out my hair dryer, picked my knife back up, and started removing the sections that were loose. I would pry my knife under the veneer while I used the hair dryer to heat the sections I was peeling. The heat softens the glue and makes it come off pretty easily.
Removing veneer
After two costs of Lamp Black, it came time to paint the inside. I tried General Finishes Millstone and Annie Sloan Old White on different shelves. I decided that Old White really made the piece pop with the great, bold contrast. Old White is a little more difficult to work with for me, as really is any white, because it doesn’t have great coverage. But three coats in and I was happy with it.

I sealed the hutch with Johnson Paste Wax, buffed and lightly sanded it.

I measured the door and headed to Lowes to buy replacement glass. Thankfully the door was a standard size and I could buy pre-cut glass, but they would cut one to size if I needed them to as well. I got home, popped the glass in and reattached the thin framing strips to hold the glass in place.

And there she is. I actually took this picture before I replaced the glass so I wouldn’t get any glare in the picture. She’ll be headed to Sweet Clover for the September tag sale on September 19, 20, and 21 in Frederick, MD. I really do love General Finishes’ modern finish and Lamp Black is an awesome true black. And the Annie Sloan Old White is the perfect pop here.
DIY Lamp Black & Old White china hutch DIY Lamp Black & Old White china hutch DIY Lamp Black & Old White china hutch Linked to: Do Tell Tuesday, DesignedbyBH, The Makers Link Party, TOO Cute Tuesday, Outside The Box Link Party

3 thoughts on “DIY Lamp Black & Old White Vintage China Hutch Makeover

Leave a Reply

