30 Before 30

Sorry I’ve been MIA the past few weeks. Honestly, I’ve been dealing with some personal things and just couldn’t bring myself to do much of anything over the past two weeks. But I’m back now, and ready to tackle whatever comes my way, so you’ll be hearing more from me, I promise.

My birthday is next week. And I’m turning 29. I would be lying if I said I didn’t feel overwhelmed by it. I’m such a cliche, but ever since I turned 23, I have mini-breakdowns the month of October. It’s silly, I know. And it’s not the fact that I’m getting older that bothers me, it’s the fact that I feel like life is passing me by. That I want to do so much and have so many experiences, but I end up doing none of them, or so little that it feels like nothing.

I own a house. I have a job that I love. I’ve turned my hobby into something that pays for itself (and maybe some extra cash on a good month). I truly married my best friend (we were best friends for 4 years before we even started dating). Not bad for 29, but I still feel like I let life just happen to me, and I always realize on my birthday that another year has gone by. So this year, instead of sulking around and feeling sorry for myself, or getting so bombed on my birthday that I forget I’m not 22, I’m taking charge.

I have one year left before 30, and I am going to accomplish some things. 30 before 30. Again, what a cliche, and I know I probably won’t check off everything on the list, but here it is. 30before30

I started mentally making the list a few months ago, and I’ve already been able to check off a few. I’ll be able to check off a few more when I head to Europe next month (!!!). Some are silly, like riding a boat on a lake, and some of things I want to do to really better myself, like quit smoking and run a mile. Run a mile may seem pretty pathetic to most people, I feel like every time I look on Facebook another one of my friends just ran a marathon, but I have never been athletic and never in my life have I ever ran a mile. This is the year I’m going to do it.

What about everyone else? Does anyone else have a 30 before 30 list, or a 40 before 40 list, or just a bucket list in general? Tell me about them!

2 thoughts on “30 Before 30

  1. After we got married I had no job and nothing to do (after all the buzz and joy of planning the wedding left me feeling bored and boring) so I made a list of goals, a “4 year plan” of things to do before 30. I’ve done probably 2/3 and will get more done this year but I figure as we turn 30 next year I’ll revise it/add some to make a “5 year plan” – one of which might be “don’t die” (ahem big daddy). I’ve found it to be so meaningful. Life is short! Make things happen, even if it is just baking bread or visiting family it’s something you might not have done otherwise!

Leave a Reply

