Meatless Monday: One Pot Cream Cheese Pumpkin Pasta

IMG_3549_1I love pumpkin. And so does pretty much every other American for the months of October and November. But I do really love it, and fall is one of my favorite times to cook mostly because I get to use pumpkin in anything I want to.

A few weeks ago, I made a cheesy bacon pumpkin dip, and I still dream about it. It was fabulous, and it got me thinking about other savory pumpkin dishes. Which brings me to my Meatless Monday recipe today, One Pot Creamy Pumpkin Pasta.

I am all about the one pot meals. By the time I work all day and come home and cook dinner, the last thing I want is 100 dishes to clean up. Unfortunately, my husband seems to hate anything that resembles a “casserole”, so I struggle to find things he would eat all made in one pot. But pasta, who doesn’t love pasta?

And this pasta was amazing. It has garlic and onions and a little bit of hot pepper flakes which adds just the right amount of heat to the sweetness of the pumpkin and nutmeg and perfectly creamy with the cream cheese. I loved it, and will definitely be making this again.

Ingredients

  • I cup chopped onions
  • 4 cloves smashed garlic
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/8 red pepper flakes
  • 1 pound pasta of your choice
  • 1/2 package (4 oz) cream cheese

All you need to do is put all the ingredients except the cream cheese into a large pot and bring to a boil. Once boiling, set a timer for 10 minutes and stir throughout. The longer it cooks, the thicker it will be, so you may need tongs or a pasta ladle to really mix it together.

After you remove the pasta from heat, take the 4 oz of cream cheese, cut into small cubes, and stir into the hot pasta until it melts and blends. Let it cool for a few minutes to thicken up, and enjoy!

I topped mine with parsley flakes, and added more salt to taste. It was yummmmmmy.

PicMonkey Collage


One thought on “Meatless Monday: One Pot Cream Cheese Pumpkin Pasta

Leave a Reply

